BEGIN THE APPLE PURGE: Apple Bread

This past Sunday, Isaac and I went apple picking in upstate South Carolina with his dad. I’d never been apple picking before, but I love picking strawberries and other fruit that aren’t blackberries (hiss! brambles!). However, now I have a literal bushel full of apples that I have no real idea what to do with… so I’m going to be posting a lot of apple recipes over the next few weeks, I suppose?

Image

Among the beginnings of the apple purge is apple bread. I love, love, LOVE banana bread. Isaac is not the biggest fan of bananas – he’s actually allergic to them, but that is only to uncooked bananas, so I could probably get away with making banana bread if I really wanted to. However, this is… just wonderful. I made it last night while simultaneously roasting a chicken and also making applesauce. It’s amazing I didn’t set the house on fire (although I’ve left chicken stock to cook all day while I’m at work, so we’ll see how things look when I get home). Anyway, the batter is delicious and opening the oven when it’s done is like pure heaven (if I believed in that sort of thing) – just warm, cozy, and perfect.

I took one loaf to work today to share. One coworker said it tasted ‘just like fall’ and if that isn’t a ringing endorsement of how wonderful this bread is, I don’t know what would be. MAKE IT NOW.

This recipe actually makes two loaves from the bread pan I used, so you can have one for home and one for work. Or both for you. Either way.

Ingredients

3 cups all-purpose flour
1.5 cups white sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
dash of nutmeg & cloves
2 balls of whole allspice ground up, or a little more than a dash of ground allspice
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt

2 eggs
1/2 cup UNSWEETENED applesauce*
1/3 cup vegetable oil
3 cups chopped, peeled apples (tart ones work best)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Topping:

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 tbsp walnuts/almonds/pecans/your preferred nut?
1/3 cup cold butter

Preheat over to 350 F.

In a mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Make sure ingredients are well integrated. Inhale the delicious spiciness. In a separate bowl, combine eggs, vanilla, oil, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir in the dry ingredients gradually, just until all nicely mixed in. Then fold in the apples!

For the topping, combine flour, brown sugar, and nut of choice. Cut cold butter (mash it with a fork!) until crumbly.

Spray two bread loaf pans with non-stick baking spray, then line with baking paper (at least that’s what I did – I was able to just lift the loaf out of the pan)! Pour in the batter evenly between the two pans. Sprinkle topping evenly over batter.

Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until you can stick a fork in it and have it come out clean. The topping will hard as it cools, leaving a nice sugary crunch on top.

*As I said, I was making applesauce last night, and it would be super easy to make some spiced applesauce for this recipe. If you choose to do so, lessen the spices from the dry ingredients and instead, spice to taste once everything is mixed in. If I’m feeling ambitious, I will post the recipe for spiced applesauce tomorrow. 🙂

Hello beautiful.

Hello beautiful.

Leave a Reply

